Freestyle Writing Challenge

by abubhaji

I was recently nominated by poemsbynadia (THANK YOU!) a fellow blogger, to do a Freestyle Writing challenge- It made my day to be asked. I had done similar challenges in the form of in-class writing, in class. I was never really comfortable with them but appreciate them all the same. Some good things came from the exercises… I can’t say the same about the silliness I wrote today. But, I can say, it was fun, fun, fun! Now, I’m nominating some others to partake in the same.

Here are the rules:

  1. Open an MS Word Document
  2. You get 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat.
  3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
  4. Ready. Set. Go. your writing and do not stop.
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (its only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals. However, if you do, it would be best
  7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
  8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers)

The topic I had to write about: what is your perfect final destination? (I chose 10 minutes… goodness!)

“Abu?” she called out to me from down the hell.

“Yes?” I said. I down set my slippers and cludied my work.

“Abu?” she helled out again, before appearing in the doorway. She stumbled, mumbly.

“How’c I ‘elp ‘ou?” I asked her. I did not life my head. I knew after all what she was after. Answers. Answers from Abu, the Willing, they seek.

Her feathers ruffled, she slipped between hinge and wood and hid behind the door.

“I know,” I said. I said, “I know you are back there.”

She sniffled.

“Pleeeze.”

“What?”

“We only have a couple more minutes. Better not to keep…”

“I just wanted to know the perfect Final Destination! I’m sorry to bother you while you’re at work.”

“It is only a small bonsai. I’m trimming it down, much like this…”

“Please, I don’t have much time either!” She pushed the door open and revealed herself to Abu.

“Final Destination as in the movie? In which case the sequel held my attention longer. That was before.”

“Que?” she asked Abu in another language and threw bones to the floor. Abu picked up his bonsai and stepped over her. He paused. He looked down at her. Violins were stretching notes across the room.

“Now,” Abu said.

“Ahora?”

“Ahora. Now.”

“Now.”

“Yes, now.”

“Now?”

“Now, we’re there.”

She smiled and passed out just in time for the clock had stopped on the wall.

No. of words: 236

_______________________________________

My five nominations:
1. poemsbynadia: poemsbynadia.wordpress.com
2. Mei Mei’s Musings: maylingbrantman.com/
3. skyhighpoetry: skyhighpoetry.wordpress.com/
4. thoughtsofthisonegirl: thoughtsofthisonegirl.wordpress.com/
5. BEARSHAMAN’S BLOG: https://bearshamansblog.com/
Your topic is below…open MS Word and start your timer — and have fun!
*
*
*
*
*
Chose one: Make up a word and explain its origin. OR Make up an ice cream flavor and tell us about it OR Tell us something dreamy?